Making the Cut

Since my test kitchen ran into my dinner, here’s what ended up on the final menu:

Bite Sized Baked Brie (Joy the Baker)   As I suggested before, blackberry jam tasted great in these!

Crock Pot Risotto with Gourmet Mushrooms (Kitchen Scoop!)  I made a couple changes.  I had 8 guests plus me, so I doubled the recipe.  I waited until the risotto was almost done before preparing the mushrooms.  Instead of warming oil for the mushrooms, I cooked bacon, which was cut into small pieces.  Once the bacon was cooked the way I like it, I added butter and followed the rest of the directions for the mushrooms and added it straight (without the liquid) to the risotto in the last few minutes rather than refrigerating.  I bought a precut container of shitake mushrooms and another precut container of brown mushrooms, but you can use any type of mushroom or vegetable you like.  This turned out creamy and delicious!

Perfect Roast Chicken (Food Network)  I completely mistimed this as well.  I was stressed and set the timer for the total cook time for 2hrs 30 min, but it only needed 1.5 hours.  We were watching it and decided it was done after 1.5 hours anyway, but I had already implemented Plan B at this point, so my parents took home one of the chickens.  Their recommendation?  Crush the garlic instead of using the whole bulb intact.

Layered Mocha Cheesecake (Taste of Home So, this made the final menu simply because of the high ratings, but no one was able to try it.  I’ve been semi-guiltily enjoying this since yesterday.  This cheesecake is divine and decadent and undeniably deserving of the rave reviews on the site.  Timing is everything for cheesecake and while I baked it in time for dinner, I didn’t have enough time to let it sit and cool for them to enjoy it.

In case you were wondering about Plan B… I ordered Thai Curry Pizza and hot wings when it looked like the chicken would leave my family waiting for food for too long.  My brother brought a strawberry and pear birthday cake from 85 Degrees C Bakery taking care of dessert.

2 responses to this post.

  1. OMG. I’m SO SAD! I didn’t get to try the cheesecake!!!

    Reply

  2. i have failed miserably at every cheesecake save one, which i make every thanksgiving. http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-sweet-potato-cheesecake-with-maple-cream-10000001119574/

    your photo makes me want to try again.

    Reply

Leave a comment